Food A question for Chefs!

Feb 23, 2007
With all this food talk, i was just wondering if there are any Chefs or aspiring Chefs on tPf??
if so...please comment! i would like to know how it is for you, how work is at restaurants and what you love most about cooking...
thanks for ur input!
(i wanna become a chef too so thats why im asking!)

I made a choice between going to Culinary Art School , The Culinary Institue if America was the I hade been accepted too , and pursueing a future in Law , I chose to eventually going to Law School

I probaly rethink my choice everyday , If I had gone to Culinary Art School I would have been done about 5 years ago ,I however hurt my back and I was unsure if I could successfully make it in the culinary art world with a back that was unpredictable

One of the hardest jobs in the world is being a chef. You really, REALLY have to love it. I was a chef at a 4 star restaurant in NYC about 5-6 years ago. I went to CIA. It's long hours and hard work with little pay when you first start off. You have to be really dedicated because you really start off on the bottom. If you watch some of the chef competitions, you can see that all of them are crazy. LOL Plus all your friends and family ALWAYS want you to cook for them. Most chefs I know/knew never cook at home.

My cousin went to the CIA in New York over 25 years ago, and he worked for Wolfgang Puck for a few years. He still is a chef, but we haven't kept in touch, so I don't know where his restaurant is. However, my aunt used to love it when he came home. He would do all the cooking. But the downside was that he would dirty every single pot and pan in the kitchen, and he would use a spoon once and then go for another one. So, all the utensils got a complete workout every day!

Im familiar with all the hard work that comes with it..its not so luxurious..but once you get up there its all worth it. cooking is fun and i love it ..