Wanting to start my own business, but where to start?

peacocky

Flaunt your Fringe
Dec 7, 2005
I've seriously been concidering opening my own online consignment for high-end clothing, shoes, accessories, and jewelry, but I have not the slightest idea where to start. I've concidered just starting out with an Ebay store before stepping into the big leagues with my own domain. I've also concidered taking out a small loan to get some inventory to start with as well. Those who do have their own online businesses, am I on the right track, or am I so off course that I should forget about it? Any and all advise is needed! :flowers:

By consignment, are you thinking of having artists 'loan' you their work to sell and you take a percentage (usually 40%) or are you going to make wholesale purchases so that you actually own the inventory?

As a jeweler, I've worked with several stores, both online and brick & mortar. I have several consignment agreements with signed contracts. I also have drop ship agreements (I keep everything on my end and send it out when it sells on their site - they get 15-25% of the sale price).

I prefer wholesale purchases where they pay 50% of the retail price and then own the items. It's easier for me, I've got the money up front, and they have more incentive to push for a sale because they need to get a profit. It's riskier on their end if the product doesn't sell though.

There is another online forum called The Switchboards (switch boards) for female small business owners. You could probably get a ton of questions answered by reading posts there and asking questions. :smile:

Most of the brands I'm wanting to sell, don't wholesale, so most of it I will take in on loan to sell for others, or buy myself to sell. I will probably take in my own wholesale inventory of what I can buy on wholesale. I'll have to check out that site.