Duty | Tax | Customs for International shopping {VAT refund}

ivivi

Dec 3, 2008
hi everyone:

I am new in TPF, I have been saving for my first chanel for a while,
so now it is the time for me to get one but the price in CANADA is tooooooo hign, since British Pound is going down, I am thinking to buy one classic flap from UK,
I live in CANADA, I would like to know if anyone have ever order from UK and how the duty and tax will be.

thanks
happy new year

Reactions: ThisLilyPetal
I am in USA and I also want to order a classic flap from UK but I don't how to make international order. I tried to search for an answer but still have no clue. :confused1: Anyone in USA order from UK before? Also, anyone know what is the current price for a jumbo flap in UK now? :smile:

Sorry, I got so many questions because I am still a Chanel newbie. :P

Umm, I'm no expert, but bringing anything in from outside Canada, customs would convert ur purchase amount @ the day's exchange rate and get a Canadian $ value. Than use that to add on duties and customs. U're looking @ 25%-30% +. So really, I can't see u saving too much.
But if you do, be sure to let us know! I'd love to add a Jumbo Caviar to my collection too!! GL!!!

Umm, I'm no expert, but bringing anything in from outside Canada, customs would convert ur purchase amount @ the day's exchange rate and get a Canadian $ value. Than use that to add on duties and customs. U're looking @ 25%-30% +. So really, I can't see u saving too much.

ITA! I'm not sure about purses, but I know shoes and clothes are GST+PST, then they add additional custom charges for anything that's not made in Canada, US or Mexico. If I remember it correctly, it's about 15% additional. In the end, you are paying about 30% more, which is really not a deal anymore.

one more thing, the SA marked down the value of the bag half on the postage. my bag was $1100pounds after VAT deduction n she just put $600 instead.