Ebay Question

mella

O.G.
Aug 26, 2006
I'm new to ebay and looking for handbags, but I've had this question for a while, which is, why would people bid during the first 9 or so days on an auction that lasts for 10 days? Doesn't that just inflate the price of the item unnecessarily? I guess if I were going to do that I'd just do the "buy it now" (that is if it were offered). Are there any benefits to bidding early?

I'm new to ebay and looking for handbags, but I've had this question for a while, which is, why would people bid during the first 9 or so days on an auction that lasts for 10 days? Doesn't that just inflate the price of the item unnecessarily? I guess if I were going to do that I'd just do the "buy it now" (that is if it were offered). Are there any benefits to bidding early?

Hi mella,
I've often wondered the same thing! I don't think there is any advantage whatsoever in bidding early. And I do think it inflates the price. The only thing I can think of is that some people may not be able to monitor the auction closely, so they bid their maximum initially, and then let the auction play out. But Ebay newbies often just keep upping their bids until they end up practically bidding against themselves, and paying way more, as a result!:shrugs:

I see this happen all the time and get so mad...I want to yell "stop inflating the price". But in the end they kind of go away and I still get it cheap.
I think some do it because they honestly think they might get that new LV bag for $50 LOL

The only benefit to bidding early is to be the first with a high proxy. That way, you have a better chance of staying the high bidder (and possibly getting the item for less than your proxy), unless someone comes along with a higher proxy.

The only benefit to bidding early is to be the first with a high proxy. That way, you have a better chance of staying the high bidder (and possibly getting the item for less than your proxy), unless someone comes along with a higher proxy.