My ridiculously unfair job!!!

calzz

Mar 21, 2008
I'm a student who works for serioulsy measily pay at the vp office of my school. I live off campus so I have to drive to school 5x a week to work there part time during the school year, but I have also decided to work here during the summer because my research project is just down the street to it.

However, I didnt want to buy a summer parking permit to work here- wats the point, isn't the school supposed to be paying me and not the other way around?

So this guy in the office gave me a faculty/staff parking permit for free which i used with no problem for the entire summer...and i though "sweet free parking, and that guy's so nice"...

Little did i know that that permit was actually INVALID and I got an $80 ticket after thinking it was fine the whole summer....

So talked to the guy in the office and he basically did nothing about it, and told me to appeal it...then i got it appealed by my school's parking office and they wouldn't appeal it! So i went to my boss and she tried to get it appealed but they wouldnt do it!

IT's so unfair beccause I barely make anything at this job as is, and i have to pay all these fees. I'm not even taking summer school here- all i do is work for THEM! This happened about a month ago so I have been having to pay HOURLY parking every day which adds up to about $150 a month!

I'm so pissed that they would treat me like this!

I know how the parking pass thing goes...we also had to pay for them at my Uni in the states. There was a parking lot near the school and a shuttle would run back and forth (for free)...is there maybe something like that you could do? Or take the bus from your research project?

i work in DC and my job does not pay us for parking. It's anywhere from $10-$20 a day for parking here, too. I carpool to work so that's how I get around it.
I think it sucks that that guy gave you a pass that was invalid though.