Never been to Paris

favorhermes

Sep 15, 2007
I am sure you fellow TPFers will know the answer to this ...

A friend recently went to Paris and said that hermes bags are sold in many places, not just the Hermes stores. Where else are they sold? She said bags were sold in random shops around the city and that they were all authentic.

Is selling knock offs in Paris absolutely forbidden and enforced?

Could she have been seeing fakes?

TIA

Des Puces is a covered flea market outside the city that has a few vintage/re-sell Hermes bags. I am not good at authenticating bags and therefore cannot say wether they were real or not. They were few and far between to find though. I was not comfortable spending that amount of money with the unsurity~

favorhermes - There was a recent revival of a thread on fake Birkins being sold by resellers in Paris. In some cases the goods were so well done experienced resellers had been fooled. But I think there might be some real tricksters out there that know they are selling fakes. My guess is the customer gets so wrapped up in being in Paris (and who wouldn't) and thinking they are getting an H bargain that they are more easily fooled.

Only buy at Hermes!!! I saw on my last trip alot of "Authentic" Hermes in Paris....almost all were very very good fakes, :yucky: Why buy fake & spend so much money when there are 3 Hermes boutiques in Paris that get shipments almost daily?:shrugs: Selling fakes is forbidden but frankly not as well enforced as it should be.:sad:
Stick to the Hermes shops & you will never have to second guess:yes::flowers: