How rude!!

Jul 25, 2007
I sent a reminder to an ebay buyer that the alloted time listed in my auction has passed and that I havent received payment yet. The buyer finally emails me back later in the day "I sent payment via paypal. I work for a living, and dont sit on my ebay page all day long." Jeesh! So I wrote back "so do most of us. If you would rather not continue this transaction, I'll happily refund your money." I was hoping she would say ok because I have a bad feeling about the attitude. She just wrote back "please ship the item." I said I would ship it out tomorrow and I hope she enjoys it, but this is the reason I was so wary of selling on ebay. Watch, she'll be the one person in 72 to not leave me positive feedback and Ill be pissed, but I had to say something - I'm not one to take sh*t from people!! Should I have handled it differently?

OMG!!! I just sent a reminder today to my buyer that she has only 48 hours left to pay before I re-list. I hope she responds/pays b/c I don't want the hassle of relisting. I just sent it as a friendly reminder, I hope she doesn't think I'm rude but so many buyers do not read the fine print in auctions and i stick to my policy!

I understand how you feel, but no matter what you state in your auction, the buyer has the 7 full days to pay. Correct me if I am wrong. So, unfortunately this sets a negative tone for your transaction. I wouldn't have said anything, until the last day that is a required payment via eBay's TOS.

Some people are just jerks! Yeah, maybe they work for a living and are busy, but this person needs to realize that they need to MAKE time to pay you for the item they bought from you....it's THEIR responsibility to pay you if they won the bid. Let's see what they say when they put an item up for auction and are not paid when they should be.

I'm so sorry that happened to you! But I think you handled it beautifully.