New BV Owner Here!!

sarcal

Jul 6, 2007
Hi everyone!

I'm new to the BV forum, I'm usually lurking in the Chanel forum and the Beauty Bar. I grew up around BVs as my Mom has been a huge fan of BV bags for over 20 years now. I have been lusting after a Carmino Medium Veneta for a couple of months and after a nice bonus at work, I decided to treat myself!

I got my new baby today and couldn't wait to take her out. I'm used to the caviar leather of my Chanel GST, so the buttery softness of the BV leather scares me a bit, even though I can't stop petting it! It just seems so much more delicate than the caviar leather that I'm used to. I know I'm not supposed to pretreat the leather or anything, but is there anything I should avoid doing? Anything special I should do for my new baby?

Thanks in advance! :yahoo:

congrats on the new baby. enjoy her. i don't have the veneta and i know you're not supposed to but i have sprayed my bags. there are many many threads on this issue. good luck with your decision and enjoy the new bag.

sarcal, congratulations! The carmine veneta is so beautiful; I would have gotten one myself if I hadn't just purchased some other bags recently. I do have a black medium veneta and didn't spray mine. It still looks very good but I baby it.

Annie9999, did you spray your ottone cabat? I ask because I've ordered the mini cabat in ottone. Thanks!

Thanks everyone! I can't stop staring at the new bag! Every time I walk by I have to touch it. I know BVs hold up very well, my Mom still has bags that are over 20 years old that still look beautiful and she's never had them reconditioned or anything. I'm just being a paranoid new owner!

sarcal, welcome to the BV forum. Congratulations on your bonus and BV acquisition. I don't spray any of my bags and if they should get caught in the rain I dry them off with a towel. Follow your mom's lead and enjoy your bag!