is it too flashy/tacky for a 25yr old to wear a rolex?

iluvapples123

Mar 19, 2007
so my dad gave me his old rolex, that i've been eyeing since i was like 12. i love, love the watch. i just feel so self conscious about wearing such a fancy watch. i personally don't think it is flashy at all. the watch itself is a very simple ss mens rolex. no diamonds. no gold. just a nice vintage rolex. but i could see how someone else might think it is too flashy for such a young person (i'm 25yrs). i would hate to be labeled as 'spolied, snobby, rich girl' at church, work, or other social arenas.

i always seem to get annoyed when i see young people with expensive designer items. i'm new to the work field, and if i was a manager and my subordinate wore a more expensive watch then me, i think that would sort of make me feel uncomfortable.

what do you guys think? i especially want to hear from you guys that are older then me, 25yr+.

many thanks in advance!

I got my first Rolex at 21- it was a ladies stainless and gold. I loved it and wore it for many years. I think it's awesome for you and if you are uncomfortable wearing it at work, pick a different one and wear this when you go out or are with friends. I think that you shouldn't worry about what people think and wear it with pride!
I wish I had a cool watch from a cool dad!
PS. I'm still wearing Rolex, only different ones now!

Your father gave it to you and you shouldn't care what others say. If you were the type that showed off (lookie I got a Rolex)Then yeah I would be annoyed but it seems you're humble and got a good head on your shoulders so wear it with pride. I bet you your dad would be very happy that you wore the watch, I would be if I gave my daughter a gift and she wore it all the time.

My sisters got their Rolex watches at 12 and 15.. that was like 15 years ago.. and they still wear their watches.. So you're def. not young to wear a Rolex at this age..

Its a classic! :tup: