Can you educate me on the Cabas please?

ela1235

May 14, 2007
What I know of Chanel I've learned here and I'm interested in the Cabas bag. What sizes are available? What's the difference between the baby and the coco? Colors currently available? Prices?

Any info (and pictures) would be really appreciated!

I am no expert, but I do have a black leather cabas that is referred to as a "baby" cabas on the boards. I got it in December of 2006, so I think it was one of the first rounds. It is a baby because it is smaller than the vinyl version. I know it also comes in khaki (which is sort of metallic) and have heard of a turquoise color and also white. I do not know what all is available now and have not seen one in my Saks in ages and ages. I do really enjoy mine, though. Hope this helps.

Although you may get lucky and find one in stores, the Cabas is relatively sold out now. I do not know of it being reproduced for any upcoming season. The original Cabas was came in 2 sizes (both very large) and came in black leather, dark grey (actually a brown color) leather, black satin, purple satin, black vinyl and had the large CC on the bag. The new Cabas was nicknamed the "Baby Cabas" by tPFers because it was quite a bit smaller and had a quilted bottom and no CC. It came in black, white, khaki (metallic bronze color), dark silver, navy and teal. I may be missing some colors here on all the versions, so I'm sure someone else will chime in! The "baby" was also again reintroduced in a larger (but still smaller than the original) size that had a braided chain handle. The last retail price for the original baby went up to $1995 from $1795. The "big baby" was more, I believe, but I'm not sure of the price. I have the "small baby" in black and it's my favorite bag! :love:

^Maybe the dark silver??