help getting started in the biz

kcbb

Feb 2, 2008
Hello Ladies,

I'm a newbie but already thankful for all the inputs. I'd like to start reselling higher end bags on ebay and possibly craigslist. Please share some knowledge on how to get stared:

where do i buy the handbags at prices conducive to reselling at a decent profit?

are profits really possible given all of the ebay and paypal fees?

any ebay alternatives?

Tips and advice?

Thanks in advance!
P

Unfortunately I don't think you are talking to the right people (correct me if I'm wrong) but we are handbag LOVERS and this is really an addiction for most of us not a business adventure. I don't think any of us really make profits on our bags.. sometimes we get lucky but most of the time we are buying & selling just to indulge our handbag cravings.. I will try to answer your questions though-
The best places to buy handbags at a discount are: EBAY, Loehman's, Nordy's Rack, TJ Maxx and other discount stores. Profits are possible sometimes if you know your styles and know what they sell for. You will not me made a millionaire though I guarantee it. There are not really any alternatives.. not any good ones anyway. Hope this helps. Good luck to you-

Most of the time we lose $ re-selling our purses, but we have to sell b/c we have to move on to the new purse obsession. As littlerock already said, sometimes selling purses on ebay has been beneficial for some, in terms of profit. One reason could be that they sell limited edition bags or hard to find bags.

There are a lot of fakes out there which make it difficult for legit sellers in alot of ways. If you have purses you want to sell to make room or raise funds for other bags, then fine. If you are looking at this to make money, don't. Like many other people, I would rather purchase a bag directly from a store than on e-bay and I think prices are even lower on Craigslist since alot of items I have seen on there in various areas, are used.