Food Any recipes for 1 person

Michy1215

O.G.
May 26, 2007
I'm a college student living on my own and I love to bake and cook. The problem is that I can't ever find any recipes that are only for 1 person and I hate left overs. I'm also watching what I eat so I want to keep it low cal.

I get tired of salads real fast so that doesn't work for me. I'm afraid to buy fish or most meats around where I'm living because I'm at school and the only place to really go grocery shopping is Walmart. So mostly I buy the thin cut skinless chicken breasts from perdue.

Does anybody have any ideas on low cal dinner dishes and side dish recipes for 1? I know there were other threads like this in the past but everytime I read them, I never get any good ideas that are healthy.

Well, if you hate leftovers, have you thought about cooking a normal sized meal, for 3-4 and portioning out individual portions, then freezing? I do that sometimes, but normally don't go to the trouble b/c I don't mind leftovers.

Another idea is allrecipes.com. They have a scaling tool on each recipe and it will change the amounts for however many you plan to serve.

Aside from scaling and freezing, I can't think of anything else other than eating really simple stuff, like grilled or baked chicken/fish/pork whatever and a veggie for actual meals. Cooking for one can be a pain. HTH!

For baking, I'd just scale the recipe. You can cut a cake recipe in half and end up w/ 12 cupcakes or if you get the jumbo pans, 6. If you do box mixes, you can halve those too, so you don't have a full cake or whatever in the house. If I am feeling ambitious, I'll mix a normal size batch of cookies, make logs and freeze them and then you can bake however many cookies you want each time. Cookies and brownies (unfrosted) generally freeze well too, so you can make one batch and portion out.