Payment methods question!

Jun 12, 2007
I'm back with another question...

An interested buyer just asked me if I accept credit cards (visa/mastercard).

This is my first time selling, I'm hoping the item will go for 400-500.

What is the safest payment method?

She claims she has Paypal but would prefer to use her cc?

Please help! THANKS!

ladyisobel is right -- she can use her credit card to pay you via Paypal.

You wouldn't be able to take cards directly without signing up with an acquiring bank as a merchant, which would be ridiculous if you only sell things occasionally, if you could even get a bank to do it. There aren't a lot of sellers on eBay who are equipped to take direct cc payments, so it's by no means unreasonable for you to just take Paypal.

I would just answer back saying, "Sorry, I'm just selling a few things from my personal collection, so don't have any means of accepting your card directly. You can use it to Pay via Paypal, and that would also keep your card details secure so you don't have to provide them to me." The fees will be deducted from the payment you receive from her, so you'll receive a little less money; she'll still just pay the amount she won the auction for, so she's not incurring any additional cost.

Transaction fees vary depending of the volume of transactions. High volume sellers (over $3000 per month) pay less. In order to accept credit card payments to your Paypal account you must have a "Paypal Business Account". If and when this requirement occurs, Paypal will walk you through it. As a low volume seller with a Paypal Business Account I pay 2.9% on the total transaction plus 55 cents per transaction. This is over and above the ebay fees.

Is your PayPal account a personal account or a business account? If your account is a personal one, you can't accept a credit card payment from your buyer. You need to upgrade your account to a Premium Business account, and you'll be charged the fees as northerndancer mentioned above.