HELP! I'm in London, now what?

Apr 16, 2007
I'm studying here in London for the semester, and I'm totally at a loss for where to go or what to do. I've been trying to read a lot of online resources about pubs/clubs etc, but I haven't been able to get a genuine "vibe" from any of these reviews, and I'm puzzled by how the clubs seem to be categorized by the type of music they play. I don't understand the difference between "house" and "trance," but more importantly, I don't know how that translates into the type of crowd that frequents it, etc. One of our orientation "guides" (who was somewhat condescending) told us that if we were to go to places like Hoxel, we would have to dress "artsy" and that if we carried a little kate spade bag, we would have to ditch it or we wouldn't fit in. I'm really confused by what this means or what I should even wear out, like what's acceptable? I guess to make this short, I'm asking if anyone knows of any fun bars/clubs to meet people in their early 20s, that wouldn't be too expensive or crazy to get into. I'm living in South Kensington, and so I'd really love to explore other areas, but it's been raining for pretty much the whole time I've been here so I kind of need a direction. Any other tips or general help would be EXTREMELY appreciated. Thanks in advance!!!

Well...I dont live in London. I live nearer to Cambridge, but my advice would be to go down the street to one of the local pubs (with a friend! Buddy system!) and try to meet some people your age...The British are super friendly once you get them started. Don't be shy! Good luck!

Hi Honey, I feel your pain, but honestly, its rubbish to say that you wont fit into a certain club, everybody has a different take on what to wear, and you certainly wont be banished or outcast because of what you are wearing!

I love the vibe of Central London, and I always head for the Jewel Bar at Picadilly Circus first

http://www.jewelbarlondon.co.uk/flash.html