Birkin/Kelly and being "age appropriate"

anhy22

anhy22
O.G.
May 14, 2007
Hi all, I'm new to Hermes so please excuse my ignorance. I'm not too sure if this issue has been discussed yet; if it has, could someone please direct me to the relevant thread? :shame:

I'm turning 25 soon and am planning to purchase my first Kelly bag next year. Do you think i'm still too young to be carrying an Hermes bag? Is there such thing as being "age appropriate"? I would consider my dress style as being mature and conservative. I usually wear jeans, a silk cami, cardigan and heels when i go out.

BTW, when did you ladies purchase your first Birkin/Kelly?

Hi Anhy22! Welcome! Happy Birthday early! What a great present for yourself! Whatever you think looks good on you! Have you tried a Kelly or Birkin? I think anything would be fine. Good luck!

Rather than being a question of age - I think its more an issue of personal style. Hermes bags work great with certain styles irrespective of the age of the owner. For me if you're look is classic chic and pulled together - the Kelly will look fabulous! The birkin is classic chic too but more sportif. For me I think - Audrey Hepburn style = Kelly, Katherine Hepburn = birkin.

25's a cool age - and no certainly not too young. If you were 12-15 I might think you were too young. But 25 not!

I purchased my 1st Kelly at 28 (I am 29 this year). I love its elegance, however, it can also be chic. I wear jeans, a cardigan and a pair of flats in all events everyday (for grocery, shopping, movies....), with my Kelly. I really like the casual look of retourne and the formal look of Sellier. If I could have been introduced to this brand earlier (and could afford it), I would have gotten it at 20, or even 18.