Some Advice: Educational, Financial, Life Related

twiggers

O.G.
May 7, 2006
OK....since the advice I am asking is really multi-faceted and not all about finances or anything I thought I could stick it here where more might see it.

Here it is...I"ll break it into the educational part, followed by the money part since really the education part influences the other...

OK Education:

I am working towards a PhD in psychology. It is recommended to be a 5 year program (I knew that going in, although I heard stories of people doing it in 4). After completion of that, many people go on and do a post-doc for 1-2 years (37K a year), and then get a job at a university doing research/teaching (starting wage of around 50K for public universities and around 60K if it's private). That is the typical story.

Here is me: I am 1 year ahead right now. I finished my masters early and am doing my prelim exams in January. I am writing a grant to fund my dissertation research. I want to finish everything in 4 years. I want to personally get a J-O-B right away, but I'll be competing against those who have the extra 2-3 years of experience. So odds are it'll be a crap job at a really small college, making maybe $40K a year. And probably never be able to advance much higher.
The pressure to finish early is coming from my husband. He doesn't understand how it can take someone so many years to finish school and make such paltry wages. He says he hates the pressure of being the one making all the money. He goes back and forth though....I tell him if I stay for 5 years I could maybe not have to do a post-doc and get an OK job.
I could also stay out here in Indiana for an extra 2 years at my school on a post-doc making around 36K...and then get an OK job.

Hubby keeps waffling...some days he says 5 years is OK and some years he says 4 years is better.

What would you do? I completely understand where DH is coming from...and frankly I'm ready to be done and to go on my own!

Financial: