Dumb question: scarf related

CynthiaNYC

Mar 2, 2007
When did H switch from the "envelopes" to the boxes? I recently bought what I thought was a very vintage scarf, and it came in an envelope which I thought meant it was the original issue, however after checking it out on PreciousColors now I'm not so sure based on the caretag (which is double, but looks "modern" to me) and some other factors.
Please forgive me for asking what sounds even to me like a really dumb question, but I'm not a scarf expert!

I dont think they ever switched. They always had boxes as well as the envelopes. I dont quite know the circumstances of why an envelope vs. a box but I have seen scarf boxes from the 1940s.

here is a scarf box from 1950s

Attachments

• box-1957.JPG
    box-1957.JPG
    45.3 KB · Views: 55
Cynthia

When I get my scarves dry cleaned at Hermes they pop it into an orange envelope, quite a long one, a really nice touch I think

Not sure if it might be one of those?

Ahhhh that is very interesting info, thank you so much Seton & Ardneish.

Maybe when I have a bit more energy I will post some pics for opinions on the age of this scarf. I don't know why I am so curious about the age of this scarf! I usually don't even care.

Before I was able to visit H stores, I bought my scarves at duty free shops at international airports. They always placed them in envelopes, not boxes. I know they have been using boxes for quite some time, but I don't know when the airport shops switched. Also, some international flights used to sell H scarves on board and they, too, would use the envelopes.

Cynthia

When I get my scarves dry cleaned at Hermes they pop it into an orange envelope, quite a long one, a really nice touch I think

:wtf: HOLD THE PHONE!!!! or as HLFINN says, SHUT UP!!!!!! You mean I can get my scarves cleaned at HERMES????????? :nuts:

Geez......where've I BEEN?!?!?!!?