Help me pick a Classic Flap ... I'm a Chanel novice.

legaldiva

O.G.
Oct 26, 2006
I'm going to a pretty important business related trip in mid-December. I'll be in Amsterdam for a short vacation after that, and I was thinking that I'd like to pick up a Chanel flap bag.

But I have some questions: PC Hooftstraat is where the Chanel boutique is located, right?

Do the boutiques normally have flap bags in stock?

The only Chanel bag is have is a timeless clutch in black lambskin.

I want a black bag--should I get gold hardware? Should I stick with black lamb, or is black caviar better? I know it's more durable ... what about black patent?

Thoughts? Recommendations?

TIA!
:flowers:

5287_1.JPG
Credit: Ebay

I think I want this exact bag ... it's a jumbo classic flap, right?

I have a caviar jumbo and a black patent. I would say in the long run I honestly think the patent will hold up longer for me, but the caviar is extremely durable as well (although mine is white). It's really a matter of personal preference. Some people don't like the new caviar that's less shiny than the old caviar leather that Chanel used to use. I personally love the feeling and luxury of lambskin, but it's not practical for me in terms of durability and longevity.

The classic flap should be relatively easy to find, especially since you want it in black which is a staple color that's always being produced (unlike red, blue fonce, purple, etc).

The hardware is also a matter of personal preference. Take a look at your jewelry. If you tend to gravitate more towards yellow gold jewelry, get gold hardware. If most of your jewelry is silver, platinum, or white gold, I would say get the silver hardware. :yes:

I would get a classic flap in caviar or patent because of the durability and in silver hardwear because I just prefer it and most mebers here prefer the silver hardwear with their black chanel bags