Picking a college major... How did YOU do it?

toxicgarden

Sep 11, 2006
I am in the middle of attempting to make the right decision for my college career and want a little advice! I am interested in Finance, Nursing, Nutrition, Graphic Design, and possibly Marketing. I am almost done with my Gen Ed's and need to make a semi decision today! So....How did you pick your Major?

I picked what I loved to do. I'm a graphic artist now, and I love the advertising and marketing field. While all I wanted to do was Graphic Design, I picked a major in Advertising and Public Relations because it's a blanket major that you can do SO many things with, from designing ads to market research to just about anything!

I picked the fastest way out! After changing my major so many times and being stuck with such a variety of classes, General Studies was what I chose. I'm now going to graduate school for business so I have something to back up my somewhat useless undergrad degree!!! Pick what you love :smile:

I started off in Athletic Training and found myself taking a ton of philosophy classes, so that made me start to think 'WTF am I doing?' I figured I may as well get something for my efforts, so I switched from a BS in exercise physiology to a BA in Philosophy. I wasn't totally easy - the university lost my Spanish placement scores so I had to take 2 years of a foreign language. It was a good opportunity for me to do something new, so I took German.

For me, philosophy was a great choice because the questions were real-life applicable, challenged me to become a better critical thinker and writer, and provided a great foundation for any further study I might choose.

I tried to find a balance between what I was best at and what I enjoyed the most. I liked reading and I was a good writer, so I did English.