Paypal claims - how do I ever win

blinchik

Oct 13, 2007
So, I've had some bad experiences on ebay as both buyer and seller... I've been scammed by a seller who 'is no longer a registered user' - I sent a payment for the keyboard and never received it. My claim was decided 'in my favor, however, Paypal was unable to retrieve the funds'. So, what kind of Paypal protection is that if they simply close claims if the user has no funds in their account?
So, recently I had a Canadian buyer for an expensive Salvage sweatshirt. The guy begged me to send the item First Class, so he can save money on shipping. I was an idiot and agreed. Sending something with tracking to Canada costs at least $17, so obviously I didnt have tracking. As he confirmed there is no tracking, he filed a Paypal claim 40 days later stating he never received the item. By that time he was kicked off ebay (no wonder) and was obviously trying to get some cash from sellers. As I have no tracking, I must pay up - or so I've been told.
So, how come when I try to collect money for the items I didn't receive, I get nothing, yet Paypal forces me to pay off my claims. What will happen if I don't pay?

Scary esp. since I just sent two very expensive bags to Canada via Express Mail but w/o any insurance since he did not want to pay for customs. At least his paypal address was confirmed, but the scam artists are getting too good to keep up with! As a seller Paypal ruled against me once because the buyer said the item was "not as described" which was a total fraud and a lie. He did a paypal claim (chargeback?) and my paypal account was frozen until they settled, unfortunately in his favor. At least he returned the item to me. The very day I received it back, I sent out a 2nd chance offer to the next highest bidder (of course the high-bidding clown had outbid 20+ others in the auction!) who was thrilled to get the item and left perfect me FB.