Now positive my Ledbury is a fake!!

rachiem

O.G.
Sep 7, 2007
Hi, received my Ledbury this morning and it didn't seem quite right,
The leather on my Annie is more bobbly/dimply.
To check I whipped to my nearest Mulberry retailer and their Ledbury have a lot more texture, more dimply and had an inside pocket!!
Also the care card is written in a different "text" to that of my authentic Annie one,
Must admit I'm rather gutted, mostly with ebay now.
Have emailed the seller to see what she has to say??

Oh no! :tdown: I hope you can get it either authenticated or sorted out with the seller Rachie, it must be a worry? Have you posted pics on the authenticate thread?

ETA: just seen your post on the authenticate thread. Ive had a look on there but honestly I cant tell, Im not very good at authenticating items beyond the obvious fakes! I hope you get it sorted one way or the other soon, as it must be hugely disappointing. Have you left feedback, or has the seller got back to you?

I'm so sorry for you rachie but it may well be variations in the batch of Darwin leather. I've seen loads of variation in the amount of pebbling and colour hues that perhaps would look as if a bag's not authentic but actually just represent deviations from the norm. The stockholm store recently had a batch of bayswaters that looked much more orange than the average oak, and the leather felt different too, almost too pebbled. I may well have written any of those bags off as a fake if I'd seen it on Ebay.

Good luck! xx

I can't tell. I've seen some very smooth darwin bags and some very bobbly grained ones in selfridges. before calling it out as a fake may be worth getting it authenticated by Mulberry.

My fake Elgin was posted out to me in a plastic bag- no padding or anything! and it smelt of chemicals. All my genuine Mulberry darwin bags ( oak annie, choc bayswater and choc antony) have that gorgeous leather smell!

The leather on my Annie is more bobbly/dimply.