Can anyone please help - info on "Dofan"?

I was able to find this:

Location 1961:

Dofan Handbags
33 E. 33rd St.
New York City

Dofan France made some fabulous handbags and this example is a sculptural gem. It was featured as "The Shape of Things to Come" in the July 1947 issue of Handbags Illustrated, page 27. It wholesaled for a hefty $22.50 each (that's $175.50 in 2005 Dollars!)and was made in suede in a variety of colors or broadcloth in black, brown and navy.

The bags that are available for sale online are all very unique and vintage. Thanks for introducing me to that brand!

Sorry I'm not an expert, but the vintage bags marked Dofan France are absolutely top quality! Many of these vintage bags can be a thing of beauty.....
I think there are others that have more expertise......GlamaRuth.....where are U????

Does anyone know what year they stopped making them?
I'm hoping to figure out a date for the one I purchased. (So hard to tell from the style!)
Thanks!

Attachments

• 19_1_b[1].jpg
    19_1_b[1].jpg
    17.8 KB · Views: 5,491
  • 92_1[1].jpg
    92_1[1].jpg
    15.4 KB · Views: 5,370
  • be_1[1].jpg
    be_1[1].jpg
    17.5 KB · Views: 5,339
I was able to find this:

Location 1961:

Dofan Handbags
33 E. 33rd St.
New York City

Dofan France made some fabulous handbags and this example is a sculptural gem. It was featured as "The Shape of Things to Come" in the July 1947 issue of Handbags Illustrated, page 27. It wholesaled for a hefty $22.50 each (that's $175.50 in 2005 Dollars!)and was made in suede in a variety of colors or broadcloth in black, brown and navy.

The bags that are available for sale online are all very unique and vintage. Thanks for introducing me to that brand!

WOW, that is amazing! Thanks for posting that pic!

Hi Temo,