Hardworking skins

thejadewoman

Sep 18, 2006
I'm pretty new to the Hermes brand...but long enough to feel its magic. I've been into scarves, but now I'm ready to take the plunge into bags.

I like the idea of a 'Hermes bag legacy'...that I would collect Hermes bags that I'd lovingly pass on to my daughter...like I would my watches and jewellery.

To this end, I'd like to know what skins would be the ones that will last the distance? Now, whilst I'm not particularly 'rough' with my bags, I do use them as functional items and I don't intend to baby them much. So perhaps I should be careful with my choice of skins.

I understand box can be refurbished to almost new, and I note many vintage bags are in box. Sounds like that's a good choice for durability. And I love the look. Which other skins are durable and can be refurbished to last till the next generation?

Check out HG's leather samples in the reference section its really great to see what she writes about each leather. form their you can find what it best for you and long term.

Also i suggest you go to a store and see the leatherbook and bags that have been made so you can make the perfect decision.

I've read HG's excellent account on leathers.

Some of you have mentioned finer points on wear on different leathers. For example, someone (I think Eric Fam?) mentioned the straps on chevre birkin getting chaffed (please correct me if I'm wrong about this).

Is chevre a durable leather that withstands wear well? Can it be refurbished easily?

Folks, please chime in with comments...thanks:heart:

i would help you out but i have no real experience on this topic, all of my H leather goods are under a year old and haven't had any issues (i woudl hope not!) i think generally it is the thicker and textured ones that are the most durable i.e. togo and epsom, box has withstood the test of time when you see vintage paces, but i personally don't love the patina look