Do you find that your jewelry style goes through different “phases”?What phase are you in right now?

I think like a lot of people, when I was a teenager and college student, I wore a lot of silver - that was fashionable at the time and also less expensive. Then I slowly added a few "statement" pieces like the huge chunky Hermès CDC. I never liked yellow gold (still don't) but when rose gold got popular, I started adding RG and diamond pieces. When midi rings were super trendy, I wore a lot of rings - now I just wear 1-2 and my wedding set. I stick with RG, WG, diamonds, and emeralds so everything works pretty well together.

I don't think I'll ever be into "major" jewelry. I did finally "upgrade" my wedding set and it's reasonably major I guess, but I can't be bothered with big jewels. I am also cursed with ears that cannot hold anything but studs, so, no big earrings for me. I'm too lazy (and too busy) to maintain a massive jewelry wardrobe, and like the simplicity of wearing the same bracelet stack and rings most days.

When I'm, say, Iris Apfel age, though, I fully intend to go nuts!

I'm in my minimalist phase... I used to like really big or ornate jewelry, like pave halo engagement rings for example, but it doesn't seem me at all anymore. I traded in my e-ring recently for a more simple solitaire setting.

Reactions: antschulina
Very interesting question!
To me, life is a process and as human beings, we all change. This means that our taste develops and changes. Our lifestyle might require specific types of jewelry at some point in life.
Here is my jewelry journey.
I used to be very minimalist. I used to love key pieces, such as one watch, one pair of diamond studs, one diamond necklace, one bracelet, one ring. I had very few pieces, and all of them were expensive and came from premium designers. Mostly hermès bracelets and tiffany & co diamonds.