Where to buy jewelry basics?

Hi! I’m pretty new to jewelry and hoping someone can point me in the right direction. Where would be the best places to go for (1) everyday gold hoops, (2) a plain gold chain for wearing a child sized ring I inherited, and (3) resetting an inherited bracelet I’ll never wear? Neither inherited piece is expensive if that matters, the ring in particular just has huge sentimental value so I’d like to wear it as a pendant.

I’m thinking an independent jeweler? But how do I find a reputable one? Or would I be better off using Blue Nile or some such for the hoops and chain since I’m looking for something so straightforward?

Sorry for all the questions and thanks for your help!

I forgot about Costco. That’s also a good place to look. I think you’d be fine picking up a chain and hoops there or at Blue Nile. I’m more familar with BN And have purchased a lot there over the years. The quality is good to fantastic, depending on the item. I have a gold wheat chain from BN that is really sturdy with a good lobster claw clasp. I like it for my more valuable/sentimental pendants because it’s so solid and strong, even though it’s not a thick chain. Whatever chain you get, just make sure the clasp and links are soldered together. I prefer a lobster claw closure over a spring ring, but I also have some good spring rings as well, so it one of those things you’ll know when you use it. As for your bracelet, I bet if you asked for recommendations for good jewelers in or near the town you live, someone might be able to help. I would not take it to just anyone for sure.

For everyday gold hoops try Maria Tash, clicker hoops. They’re simple, affordable and easy to wear. For chain I would go Etsy route. Sorry can’t help with bracelet but depends on where you’re based your local jeweller should be able to help. Look at his/her reviews first.