Are some brands less risky to get preloved?

Gamander

Mar 19, 2020
I'm feeling pretty scared to buy anything pre-loved especially premier designers that fetch $1000s on the preloved market because of the risk of getting a fake bag. Although my feeling is the risk would be higher with more expensive brands because scammers are more likely to put in more work since they will make more money selling a fake premier designer bag than a designer whose bags are not as expensive. I have seen some of the premier designer fakes look really good (although I'm not an expert and pretty new to the more expensive designer handbags). I would be worried that even with authentication some preloved sites do that a fake could still get through, and i would have spent $$$ for a fake bag.

Do you think it's safer with contemporary brands bags to get preloved (thinking Tory Burch, Kate Spade, Coach etc.) since the likelihood is the fake would not be as well done (easier to spot by amateur), and people are less likely to scam with those bags since they don't bring in as much money. Or do you think the likelihood is just as high that you could get a fake and not realize.

Interested to hear your thoughts if you feel there are well done fakes for contemporary designers as well. And are you comfortable buying premier brands (over $1000 bags) preloved and do you feel there is some risk even with good authenticators out there.

Anything that's in demand is going to be faked, some better than others.

But the good thing is that as a buyer, you have protection.

Some buyers hesitate to have items authenticated before purchasing because of the risk of losing the item to another buyer who lurks and sees the authentication.