Can Shiny/Crackly Ever Be Good?

brunettetiger

Follow Your Heart...
O.G.
Apr 17, 2007
Hi all - finally found a black city ('07 3 leather) that was gorgeous when I tried it on (others I have seen IRL were 06 dry, greyish and veiny and no pizzazz - was almost going to give up on black city) and the handles are very comfortable and the bag felt quite natural on me. Sold!!!

But I am worried now because there are some parts that are the shiny/crackly/almost sparkly - not all over, just in some areas. The bag overall is a beauty and pics look like '05 leather (im still a newbie and can't figure out how to post pics small enough for TPF). Is this just dryness? Newness? Does it soften and become 'chewy' or what? Will the sparkly/crackly areas actually peel and crack?

Based on what I have read here, seems like this is an undesirable trait but I think it is what is making this particular bag sizzling hot!

Any opinions?

I think its a personal preference thing. I presonally like it when my bag isn't perfectly, evenly distressed. I would rather have a shiny, crackled bag than a really smooth one. Shiny, crackled bags break in nicely in my experience - they soften up quite a bit.

If this is what you think makes the bag H:nuts:T then that's all that matters! :yes:

I personally never treat any of my bbags: I love they way they naturally break in and developed more vintage characterists.

And btw: CONGRATS!! :yahoo:

Based on what I have read here, seems like this is an undesirable trait but I think it is what is making this particular bag sizzling hot!

If this is what you think makes the bag H:nuts:T then that's all that matters! :yes:

I personally never treat any of my bbags: I love they way they naturally break in and developed more vintage characterists.

And btw: CONGRATS!! :yahoo:

I completely agree!
I LIKE my bags shiny and veiny even if others on here don't :tup: