Is it really worth it?

Sorry if this has been discussed before, i know there’s a discussion about quality but not everything i want to ask.

I’m a big fan of designer handbags/accessories as all the ladies are on here but do you think Chanel is really worth the price they charge? It goes up every year but the quality is getting worse. I don’t know if i will pay the price anymore. Not only brand new handbags but preloved sell for thousands. I saw a Chanel bag on eBay a few years ago that looked like a truck had driven over it, i’m not even exaggerating it was appalling and there was a bidding war over it. I will never forget that.
I have a few Lanvin handbags, they’re beautiful and have more to them than most of the Chanel bags yet it’s Chanel that people will still pay thousands for over Lanvin. I don’t understand why to be honest. Is it just the name? because it definitely isn’t for the quality. I’m in no way supporting copies/counterfeit or whatever you like to call it but i’ve seen some really good copies and i mean they’re identical. You can’t tell the difference and like i’ve said it’s not like the ones we purchase at the Chanel store are of better quality. Years ago they used to be ok but now i just don’t think it’s worth the money anymore!

I was thinking similarly @lallybelle
An item is only worth the price we're willing to pay for it.

I've been buying since 2005 and I haven't had one quality issue, I've seen no decrease in quality personally. I do buy much less since having acquired a small-ish collection of basics and these price increases however.

I'm liking Goyard right now and I somehow justify paying those prices as well lol
I see quality complaints in here, LV, Hermes, Goyard, etc. . .