Sell Chanel Jumbo and get Hermes Bolide?

baybay0359

O.G.
Mar 26, 2010
Hello everyone,

I am VERY new to Hermes, and the Hermes subsection of this forum, and was hoping for some advice. Basically, I am due for a new bag. Originally, my plan was to purchase a Chanel Reissue 226 (I currently have a Red Chanel Jumbo single flap pictured in my profile). However, when I went into the Chanel store in my city, I was not happy with the quality - and equally unhappy with the price. They are now over $7000 Canadian Dollars! While I have no problem paying this type of a price, the quality better match!

Because I felt the quality was less than ideal, I started looking at other bags, and came across the Bolide. I love how its understated, I love how its light, and I especially love that the strap is removable - particularly because I love the straps sold separately that Hermes is now selling which can completely change the look of the bag. I am therefore now considering the Bolide ($9600) with another strap as an accessory (around $2000).

While I *could* keep the jumbo, and get the Bolide, I would be feel much more comfortable with the increased price if I sold the Chanel. I don't wear it that often as its very heavy, and so I don't think I would miss it too much. I am also becoming more interested in understated luxury, which the Chanel symbol isn't. That said, it is a single flap (which is discontinued), and in perfect condition, which is rare, and so I am worried I will regret it without any way to replace the bag if that happens.

If you have advice I would greatly appreciate it. would you sell? Or bite the bullet, keep, and buy the Bolide anyway?

Also, does anyone know how often Bolides come in colours apart from the ones on the Hermes website? I went to my local boutique here and the only colours they had were those shown online.

Thanks!

I would sell the Chanel.. For many it is desirable & perhaps check the secondary market for resale value