Buyer says she saw it cheaper in a store, wants to return

Cundle

Jun 1, 2007
Hi. This is my first post on the Forum. I've been selling medium priced bags on Ebay for a few years. All you experienced sellers know that you can be rolling along with sales, everything fine. For me, about every three months or so, I get a spate of all kinds of crazy people buying, changing their minds, returning, asking dumber than dumb questions. Just today I've had someone want to return a bag because they saw it cheaper at their local NM! Of course, I have to be nice, and take it back for a refund. To try to stop this nonsense, I've recently instituted a restocking fee. I hated to have to do this but my profit margin is so low, I see no other choice. Also today I had a zero feedback bidder try and buy something from me. Turns out she was registered in the US but living in Japan. Wanted me to ship an expensive MBMJ bag to her boyfriend in the US. I denied the payment because it was unconfirmed. She emails me that her Paypal account shows that the money has been taken out. I told her my PP shows it as being denied and I never had her money in my account to begin with. Sorry for the long post, I'm getting kind of sick of all the nutjob buyers. :tdown:

I am sorry this has happened to you. That buyer deserves a non-paying strike.

There are many irresponsible buyers around, there also are many good buyers out there. Maybe you could say in your listing that you are not a retail store so all sales are final. Charging a restocking fee is another good idea. If you choose to do so, make sure you indicate all items need to be returned within 24 or 48 hours after they are delivered. Also, make sure to attach some security tags to prevent return after usage.