HELP New Mulberry Leather? Bayswater backpack in oak

Claireb5

Jan 3, 2018
Hi guys

I'm not an expert on Mulberry so need some help. I just bought a Bayswater backpack in oak (it says small classic grain leather) as I've needed a backpack for a while. Now, I'm really concerned about the leather, it seems to be treated and feels spongy and although it seems like it would be scratch resistant and rain proof - it's nothing like my Antony in oak which is a natural leather and has developed a beautiful shiny patina (although susceptible to scratches and rain marks). What I love about Mulberry oak is the way it ages and patinas. I'm worried that i'll be permanently disappointed with this new backpack if it doesn't patina and develop character over time!?

Could anyone help me understand what this new leather is and how it may age, most importantly will it develop any patina and character? Should I return it?

Thanks guys xx

I own a black small classic grain Bayswater which I bought to replace my black natural vegetable tanned (NVT) Bayswater. It is a treated leather and so will behave differently to NVT. I wanted a less casual looking black Bayswater and wanted a type of leather that did not change and looked a bit more dressy as I was using it for work. I wanted the opposite of what you are describing.

My oak and chocolate NVT bays have also developed patina which I love. My treated leather Bayswaters have not.

Mulberry has info on the different types of leathers. Have a look there. Also this leather type should be explained on the care card that came with your bag.