Cleaning Vachetta Leather 101

chinchin7

i need them all
Dec 15, 2015
Hello. Hopefully I don't get heat for this :cool: but I thought it would be helpful to create a new thread where people can posts their experiences with cleaning vachetta leather. I’ve read some of the other ones, and some threads seem to be closed etc, so I just don’t know where to post and thought it best to start a fresh one?

If you are thinking about ways to clean your bag, or renew an old piece, this may benefit you.

Disclaimer: I am not a professional leather expert and am only sharing my own personal experience with vachetta leather.

I wanted to share my experience with recently cleaning the handle of one of my luggage pieces. Yes Yes Yes, I know. You are not supposed to do anything to vachetta but let it be. Well that sounds great, but for all us monogram/vachetta lovers we know the reality of dealing with this easily stainable leather, especially if the stain is bad and becomes too noticeable for liking.

Anyhow, somehow I ended up spilling toothpaste on the handle of my luggage and didn't notice until a few days after. By then the stain had already set in deep. I cleaned it off with a dry cloth, but was left with a dark noticeable stain. I waited a few weeks to see how it would evolve. What to do? To make a long story short:

1. Fragrance/Color free water soluble foaming cleanser/shampoo you would use for your skin or hair
2. Toothbrush
3. Wet cloth
4. Dry Cloth

I scrubbed this gently over the course of a few days. Each time I cleaned, tried to get all the cleanser off with a wet cloth (go over it several times rinsing the cloth out) and let dry, the stain got lighter. After about the 3rd time, I decided I had cleaned it well enough and then let it dry.