Long time collectors: question for you.

momjules

May 4, 2015
I have been collecting since November 2012. I just caught some bags with the leather key keepers. Do you think today's handbags are made cheaper? Do you think the leather is cheaper? Do you think there is too much coated cotton than before? The older bags look more sturdy and well made. Even some having six feet.
Can you please offer your thoughts?

Hi Jules, yes I think Dooney as well as most companies has to find ways to cut costs due to manufacturing cost always increasing. I think they try to find ways to still remain true to their customers by keeping to their price point while still making their target margin.

I haven't been collecting for that long, but I have noticed materials changing a bit, pebble grain leather being thinner than the older pebbled leather or the Dillen collection, etc. The new Toscana line of Florentine and even some of the newer Florentine satchels feel thinner.

It doesn't bother me too much because I understand why they have to do it. I appreciate that they still offer great details that stay true to their brand while not raising their prices too much for us. I also appreciate a lighter weight handbag these days. It's what companies have to do to stay competitive and in business. I think Dooney has overall done a great job in keeping their price point for us while still continually offering new styles regularly.

Some may not agree with me, but being in manufacturing myself I see what goes into planning and delivering a competitive product to the market first hand. It's quite the delicate balancing act.

Reactions: kimarley
HAPPY BIRTHDAY MJ!:drinks:
I hope you're having a great day!