To sole protect or not to sole protect?

Tivo

O.G.
Sep 14, 2013
Hello all!
There was a time - when I was a CL newbie - that preserving that glossy red bottom of the shoe was so important.

Now I find sole protectors somewhat tacky looking. I'd rather see the sole look as its been worn. And believe it or not that's one of my considerations when buying a used pair...except if the shoe is totally raggedy.

Anyone else feel this way?

I appreciate this thread because I just bought my first pair and decided not to protect the sole, and it's starting to show wear just from walking around on my wood floors ... so it makes me feel better about that decision :biggrin:

Reactions: MahaM and Tivo
Yeah, I think many sellers of previously worn shoes put them on to hide the actual wear..... so they can say " worn only once"..... and yes, they do make the shoes look cheap..... I also prefer the gradual wear of the red soles and do not have issues when it is worn out....the rest of the red does not wear out....so still has the look anyway....

I like to re-sole pre-owned pairs if the seller has not done so. The reason for that is, I feel it refreshes the shoe and gives it more life. I do like the feeling of re-soled shoes because they are less slippery. However, I will not re-sole a brand new pair before wearing them. I have a light step, have many pairs to rotate and limit the distances and time worn, so the soles have minimal scuffs. I like knowing that I'm the one who has worn done a sole.

As far as finding sole protectors tacky looking, I do not have a problem with Vibram, Topy or any other brand red sole. The ones that I have disdain for are the small, usually grey anti-slip soles that people sometimes use. I know people just want to feel secure and not have slippery shoes, but those make me cringe for some reason.