Is this a reasonable way to purchase a Birkin?

Jun 16, 2007
Hello!

I've been lurking and learning lots of valuable info. Wow, you ladies really know your stuff!

I have been coveting for a couple of years a 30cm Blue Jean Togo w/ palladium hardware. I'll be 40 this year and had hoped it would be my big 4-0 gift to myself! Even though I know it's a "young" color, I feel it matches my spirit, and living in South Florida, I can carry it year-round.

Which brings me to my question: I realize it appears to be "bad form" to walk into a store inquiring about a Birkin, and although there are at least 2 boutiques (Palm Beach and Bal Harbour) close to me, I don't know any of the SA's, or even how to get on a wait list. I had thought, and please tell me if this is A) tacky or B) would be a good idea: My credit card has a concierge service that supposedly can get me anything anytime...is it a bad idea to have them contact Hermes to order a BJ, or at least get me on a wait list?

Also, I estimate that the BJ is going to cost me around $7000-$8000. Is this correct?

Thanks SO much!

Sorry to say this, but I've been told even the concierge can't do much to get you a Birkin. The best way is to go into the store and develop a relationship with a SA. Some people balk at this idea and don't want to buy any other H items in an attempt to procure a Birkin. All they want is the Birkin. If you fall into the latter category, there are always resellers. A 35cm BJ togo Birkin runs around $7500 before tax, if memory serves.