SDJ vs Boy

sbuxaddict

O.G.
May 17, 2013
I know this seems like a no-brainer, but hear me out! I am currently contemplating a small SDJ at 30% off (pre-owned) or saving up for a medium Chanel Boy.

I am a student, and while the Chanel Boy is the one that makes my heart sing :loveeyes:, I feel like the SDJ is more practical. I don't know that I will have many occasions to use the Boy, nor will I always feel comfortable using such an expensive bag around my peers. If I got it, it would be a guilty indulgence that would most likely stay in my closet. Not to mention, 5000 is a lot for a student and who knows if there will be an increase by the time i can accord it.

For the SDJ, I would definitely get more use out of it. I almost feel like it's too good of an opportunity to pass up, because normally they are 2,500-3,000. I recently got a baby one but I would like to add a small to my collection. I don't know that I would pay the full price for a small but this seems like a good price!

Practicality vs emotions haha. Any new POV or input would be appreciated! I know this may be biased because this is all Chanel haha, but typically this forum is more active!

I own a boy and have owned a small Sdj. The small SDJ is VERY heavy and if you already own a baby, probably not as necessary. The boy is a great bag and ALWAYS gets compliments. Its also the one you REALLY want.

Also, SDJs go on sale all the time so you could get a new one 30% off or more if you wait til next season.