Top-grain vs split hide useful life and durability

SeriesLC

May 8, 2016
Hi all

I'm a newbie here and am wondering what is the difference in terms of durability and life of split hide vs top grain?

I have read a few threads and article and found that top-grain is more durable, but I'm just wondering by how much?

Generally, a leather bag (top-grain) can last for >10 years. Can split hide also last that long with care?

I went for a leather class and learnt that the split layer is not durable and used more often in treated leathers such as patent leather where there is an extra coat of chemical to strengthen it. I don't think there is a specific measure of durability as all bags are made differently but I guess it strongly depends on the usage and care given to a bag. If you're looking for a bag that is more durable, try to go for calf or cow leather rather than goatskin leather which tends to be softer.

I went for a leather class and learnt that the split layer is not durable and used more often in treated leathers such as patent leather where there is an extra coat of chemical to strengthen it. I don't think there is a specific measure of durability as all bags are made differently but I guess it strongly depends on the usage and care given to a bag. If you're looking for a bag that is more durable, try to go for calf or cow leather rather than goatskin leather which tends to be softer.

I'm actually using cowhide but a split cowhide. Do you think it's that different between top grain and split hide based on your knowledge? I'm normally pretty careful when using my bag hoping that it will hold up!

It's not always about durability (hardiness)

Top-grain has the natural look of real leather. On fine young leather that doesn't always correspond to bullet-proof material