A fashion question I seriously wonder about a lot -

mf112

Mar 23, 2016
There is something I wonder about a lot and I am not sure how to word this question but I will do my best - I never asked anyone because I thought I would sound uneducated or something IDK
cotton - The most used fabric of clothes but there but what's the deal , I mean are there different kinds or something because so often do I see 100 % cotton of the tags of garment but the feel , touch everything about them are 100% different - I mean like there are H&M sweaters that say 100% cotton that feel like total sandpaper but then there are super expensive designer items that will also say 100% cotton - so what is the deal ?
I am really curious about this .

I'm not an expert, but from what I do know, there's thread count, weight, and how it's weaved. Dyes can make a difference or the chemicals used to treat it the material.

+1

i was just reading the Juicy Couture biography and they mentioned their famous cotton tee they had.. that the dye process is what made their tee so super soft and lux, so i think that factors into it a lot, along with those other things.

Cotton comes from different countries too. Egyptian cotton is always advertised as softer. Peruvian cotton is often softer. I do think how they treat it while manufacturing has a big effect on the smoothness and softness. It's a great question, because I bought a cotton top online that was unwearable because it was so rough.

Wow, a question I can answer! First off, there are many varieties of cotton and cotton fiber has many different grades based on physical characteristics and color. Before the yarn is even spun, cotton will be graded on fiber length, how fine it is, uniformity, maturity, etc, etc. Then the type of yarn made adds more variables, such as how twisted it is, how many plies there are, and other factors. There are also treatments such as mercerizing that affect the feel.