Home & Garden What's wrong with my cactus? Please don't laugh

ManilaMama

Mar 5, 2016
Ok I love to garden. Only discovered my love for it when we bought our first house a year ago. It had a pocket garden and a huge balcony so I became smitten with buying plants and trying my darnest to make sure they don't die. I am a TOTAL NOVICE and never owned plants before. I have already killed a yucca and some cacti. (I have good theories on why they died; and I am learning as I go along).

Anyway I have this cactus and its.. Eh.. Growing.. INTO AN ALIEN. I don't get it. It's so ugly and the brown "leaves" are still stuck firmly and won't fall off and.. Yeah.. It's been growing like this for a full year.

Just look at the photos and tell me what to do or not do.

This is out in full sun in my balcony. Has been for a year. I water sparsely once a week.

ImageUploadedByPurseForum1460715011.752691.jpgImageUploadedByPurseForum1460715030.904220.jpg

Please don't make fun of me. I'm really trying here. This is a sincere post and I want to help this guy look better. Thanks!

I think you should do some googling because I have heard horror stories. I think they might be related to swollen leaves though, which I don't see in your pic. (Not joking, I just don't remember the details but IIRC it had something to do with bugs nesting. You should know about it anyway even it it doesn't apply to you.)

Horror story?? What do you mean? Horror as in.. This cactus has something that can harm my family? Or horror like.. This cactus has 100 bugs inside it?

If it's the first then let me know and I'm going to start panicking! Lol!!!

I googled briefly and saw "etiolation" (extended growth from not enough sun) perhaps from its months of being by the wall. But it's now exposed to bright light so I don't know what else to think.

I saw a list of photos and damage caused by bugs and fungus and don't see that either? (Or I just really don't know what I'm looking at). Sigh.