Which BV in the rain?

GoStanford

O.G.
Jun 28, 2012
Those of you in Northern CA know about the intermittent heavy rains here. Which BV, if any, do you carry in this type of weather? I have been relying on synthetic bags during this weather, since I often leave the house without an umbrella and just with a rain jacket - one less thing to carry.

P.S. I have enjoyed reading about your meet-up and seeing the photos. Sorry to read about BV_LC_Poodle's injury, and best wishes for a smooth recovery.

I live near Vancouver, BC so I feel like I'm a bit of an expert on rain. David Duchovny was once quoted (jokingly) saying that we get "400 inches of rainfall a day."
There is the torential rain and wind that hammers down for hours, the rain that starts on a Friday afternoon and doesn't let up until Sunday night, the Pineapple Express that moves in from Hawaii in the winter months, the light misty crap that is too much for regular windshield wipers but not quite enough for the intermitent setting. Yeah rain. It's wet. Eh?
I have to tell you that an umbrella really is your friend. Find a really cute mini one that fits in your bag. Besides, wet soggy hair is like.... blech.
However, I will say that I generally don't pay much attention to what purse I use in rainy weather. It's leather. I mean cows do go outside, right? Not that I'd make a habit of it, but your bag will be fine if it gets a bit wet.
I got caught in a !surprise! rain storm last summer while in the city. I was carrying my Opera Roma and when I left for lunch I had sunglasses on my head. When I came out of the restaurant to head to my hotel - :panic:
That bag got completely soaked, like w.e.t. You know what? It dried. Naturally, on its own and is none the worse for wear. No water marks, nothing. Mind you it is Nappa Umbria so I think that makes a difference. I don't know if I would have been as smug carrying Cervo. I have been caught in the rain with Karung and it also was just fine.