What's your opinion on used bag pricing in the Chanel world?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Feb 3, 2013
Hi all!
I have recently bought a boy bag new from the boutique, and now realize that there is another boy bag that I want but missed. So, I started by doing ebay searches. I found the bag, but it is ONE THOUSAND DOLLARS above retail! What the heck?! I also notice that this bag, and many on ebay are new with tags. Now, I'm a noob to such a concept, but I can only guess that people are buying bags that they assume will be coveted in the future, tucking them away in their closet, and then selling them for more than current retail.
Is this what's happening? If so, what is your opinion on this? Have any of you bitten the bullet and bought a bag under these circumstances?
Any advice and/or insight would be greatly appreciated!

I have to admit I have bought a couple because I missed out on it and I really really wanted it. There are some people that buy them and sell them above the retail. I remember going into chanel and my SA told me that I may have to limit what I buy because my account may get flagged. I tend to buy multiple bags at a time in different color. At first I was a bit taken back but I understood their policy. It doesn't seem fair to some that truly wants to buy them for the sole purpose of enjoying them and not make a profit out of them. I would understand if they sell them because of buyer's remorse and can't return them.