Graduating on time????

My husband has been at it 6 years now, he'll finally be done this year. It is really hard to go to school and work full time. I have an associates degree... it's gonna take me another 3 years to finish and get my bachelors!

I'm going to ask you what my father asked me when I first dropped out of college and cried about being behind. Who are you competing with? Things come up, things change, majors change... whats wrong with taking more than 4 years? It took me MONTHS to realize that the only person I'm in a race with is myself. Its hard to look at your education and think of yourself as being "behind everyone else". But what's the big deal? How long you take is up to you and how long everyone else takes is up to them. As long as you get it done, who cares?

LOL - that's so true. There will always be someone better than you, ahead of you, etc. :smile: You gotta do stuff for yourself and forget everyone else.

LOL - that's so true. There will always be someone better than you, ahead of you, etc. :smile: You gotta do stuff for yourself and forget everyone else.

Exactly! If you get there in the end, why does the length of time matter? You made it, you took the same classes as the people who took a shorter time, and you are just as qualified

I took 5 years to graduate, in part because I went to an engineering school with intense pre-reqs. Even though I decided to change my major my first year there, that made it impossible for me to graduate in less than 5 years.

I don't regret it, and I got into a great grad school and now have a great job, so I don't think my employers cared, either!

...every major is what you make of it. I know art and women's studies majors who have worked incredibly hard. I don't think it's right to say their degree was any easier to get. :nogood: