Ever wonder why the STUNNING color of your Bbag is SOOO DARN HARD to photograph???

another thing you have to consider is your computer monitor calibration, and your viewer's computer monitor calibration... I'm no expert in that but it is definitely going to affect how the color looks on screen, regardless of how well you photographed it.

A tip I heard once: put a common object like a coke can in each photo, something everyone will know -- that way they can judge how far or close to true color the thing is that they are viewing. everybody knows coca-cola red!!

interesting thread!

i have an embarassing confession to make - this is the reason why my bbag collection has remained unphotographed/undocumented thus far on tPF. i live in one of the country's most overcast cities, so finding good lighting is impossible. with spring approaching - let's be honest, it hasn't arrived in pittsburgh yet - it's becoming easier, thankfully.

picasa is something i need to check out. and thanks for the tip about the coke can/reference item :smile:

I was using coke cans and tomatoes next to my Rouge Vif - and all three looked the same (on my monitor). I am actually working at calibrating my monitor (it can be done! I have some kind of color management system I can tweak - I know I can get it closer). If I print the pictures out, they're much better, the color is better.

But, I know that many people are buying on ebay or online - and it's often very hard to tell what color is presented.

I'm going to keep trying and appreciate the suggestions about cloudiness, time of day, etc. I'm going to use a white background and a coke can, both, next time.

:sweatdrop:

I just spent the evening taking pics of my bbag...and after two different sets of pics in different lightings...I'm still going to do another round tomorrow against natural outdoor lighting... Hopefully, I'll be happier with the results!

I did!!