Hand-Painted or Not -- Be Clear Please!!

loungegirl

O.G.
Oct 24, 2006
Hi Goyard fans and/or Experts,

I'm very new to Goyard and would like clarity on whether Goyard's logo dot pattern is actually hand-painted by individual artisans. I know the personalized initials and stripes and other special requests/customized designs are hand-painted (using stencils... link: http://www.sfgate.com/style/article/Goyard-monograms-ABCs-of-luxury-4430607.php ), but is the Goyard logo design (all the dots) on the canvas actually hand-painted or is it printed on? I tried to research on this forum and although many seem to believe that all Goyard pieces are hand-painted, noone has provided any proof or link to support their belief. And there is NO clear indication or confirmation of this on Goyard's website or wikipedia. If each dot pattern is indeed painstakingly hand-painted on the canvas, why would Goyard not proudly and explicitly indicate this on their website? If it is indeed hand-painted - something surely Goyard should be proud of - why is there no mention of how long it takes to hand-paint each bag and therefore to justify its exclusivity, luxury and price? I find it hard to believe that such important detail, if it is indeed true, is so vague or missed in their marketing department.

Why is this information so unclear and so difficult to find?

To those who believe or say that the Goyard logo dot pattern is hand-painted, please provide a link to confirm this as I can't seem to find this information anywhere. Thanks for your help!

Edited for adding this info:
Taken from Goyard's website:
Like all family secrets, the exact manufacturing process of the Goyardine remains strictly confidential. Though it was originally hand-painted, the current process requires a ground-colour application, followed by three successive layers of etching colours that create its trademark slightly raised pattern.