A New Vintage Coach Lover Needs Help...

MadgePadge

O.G.
Jun 1, 2012
I'm a new vintage handbag Coach lover, mostly anything produced before 1994. Yes, I know there are a lot of beautiful bags made after the early 90's, but I think the magic started to fade after Sara Lee purchased Coach in 1985.

I understand how to read a serial number such as F4D 9085. I'd like to know how people are "dating" a vintage bag by the serial number and I'd like to know how to find out the name of a vintage bag. I've seen people dating vintage bags they're selling on ebay and I'm included to believe it's all willy nilly. Plus, the guides I've found online are filled w/ conflicting information.

So far, the urban internet myths include a "catalogue" of older handbag styles and the ability to enter a creed/serial number into a database at Coach, which brings up the name and production year of your bag. To date, I cannot find either...

What are the best sources to learn about the merchandise that was produced from the late 1960's thru the early 1990's? If anyone would be kind enough to help me, I'd be very appreciative!

Thanking all of you in advance for the best info possible info and your assistance. smile1:

There is information here: http://www.ebay.com/gds/Coach-Serial-Numbers-the-Basic-Facts-/10000000034886433/g.html

Basically, there are three types of creeds: made in New York City, made in the United States or made in U.S.A., or the format used after 1994.

Coach used the US creeds from around 1988 to 1993 so that is how you can date those bags. If you know the style and know when it was introduced, you can narrow it down further. Also they changed the format from xxx-xxxx to xxxx-xxx around 1989 -1990, so if the format is the former, you can guess it was made in 1988 or 1989; if it is the latter, then it was probably made between 1990 - 1993.