Help! Seller wants more money!

LouboutinNerd

In Shoe Land!!
O.G.
Oct 10, 2008
Hello Everyone,

I am new to the ebay forum and am hoping for a little advice. I tried to search for my topic, but didn't see any replies, so please forgive me if this has been asked. Yesterday, I won an auction for a pair of shoes. I promptly paid with Paypal within 5 minutes of the auction ending. This morning, I received an email from the seller saying that she was going to refund my money because she wanted more money for the shoes and couldn't sell them to me for this price. There was no reserve set on the auction. I am not sure what to do. I would like the shoes as they are a HG for me, but ethically I don't feel like I should pay more since I won the auction fairly. Does ebay offer any kind of recourse for situations like this? Thanks in advance :smile:.

Unfortunately, no one can force the seller to send the shoes that you won fair and square. The only recourse is to leave appropriate feedback (in this instance, I think negative is fair) to warn other potential bidders in future auctions.

This is kind of tough. The seller is not allowed to ask for more money after the auction ends. However, you can't make the seller ship the item, even if you report them to eBay. I would start by sending the seller a polite email that explains that the auction had no reserve, and you'd appreciate her sending the item.

If the seller isn't receptive, and you've paid (and I would recommend doing so if you haven't), and the seller refunds / requests cancellation, you can leave negative feedback and not agree to cancel (so the seller will lose their fees).

The other option is to agree to pay the seller more if you really want the shoes, but only you can decide how you really feel about that.