Workplace Got a new job and college denied my degree..

Aug 10, 2011
So I am absolutely freaking the hell out right now.. I graduated from college about two weeks ago with my BA in english literature. Awesome. I've worked hard for it and overcame a lot but got my act together in the last year and made it happen.

the not so awesome part? i got an email today from the school saying I need to enroll for fall and my application for graduation had been denied because I needed a 2.5 within my major requirements to graduate. I have a 2.47.

WTF!!!! i have been a crying mess all morning. my whole family and all of our friends were so happy for me and excited that i was finally finishing college, and now this bomb is dropped on me. all of my major requirements have been passed and completed and i cannot retake any of those so i have no idea what my options are. I'm still waiting to hear from my advisor but to know that i was so so so close is just heartbreaking. I hope it doesn't mean i have to pursue a new degree or something..

i have a new job now too that i start monday. i got the connection through a friend and the CEO of that portion of the company really liked me. He knew i was a week away from finishing school when we met so he's assuming i'm a graduate. technically, i did not fill out any sort of application so i didn't "lie," but i still feel like a fraud anyway and am not sure if i should tell him that there was a mistake in my graduating.. my last day at my current employer is today and i don't want this to get ruined because of what happened in school.

please help. i'm so lost and confused and devastated over all of this. it's really killing me right now.. like, three tenths. really?? :cry:

Oh my goodness, I'm sorry you're dealing with this.