Best Offer--Buy w/ Private Feedback

Eva14

O.G.
May 15, 2012
I'm selling a rather expensive item of clothing (about $500). I've only been selling on eBay for a few months, and usually only low-priced items. I'm still learning and don't want to get ripped off.

First, the buyer was from outside the USA. Not a problem, because I did list that I ship internationally. I have no idea if I should restrict expensive items to USA only? Just to keep postage and things simpler?

Also, I have no idea whether or not to offer returns, as this is designer clothing. Any thoughts?

Lastly, the 'Best Offer' was very low and came from someone who keeps her feedback private. Is that a red flag? My feedback is 100% and I'm proud of that. I just can't imagine doing business with someone who wants to keep her feedback private. Are there valid reasons for doing so?

I tend to think the worst, with all of the scams out there. I'm just trying to be very careful. This is NOT an item that I can afford to lose.

Thank you for any advice; I greatly appreciate it.

Private feedback is not in itself a red flag. Your buyer may not want people to see her purchase history because she is a reseller or perhaps she simply does not want people to know what she buys.

But combined with your other concerns - you are a new seller, it is international and a low ball offer - there are too many caution flags. I would be inclined not to enter into negotiations with this buyer and hope something you feel more comfortable with comes along.

What country is she from? Can you get on-line tracking? How long has she been a member?
Aren't there some countries where FB is automatically private due to privacy laws? I thought Germany was one. But, I may not be remembering correctly.
Personally, the combination of low ball offer, international and private feedback would make me feel uncomfortable.

What country is she from? Can you get on-line tracking? How long has she been a member?