Paypal question

zippie

Dec 7, 2006
I just logged in to my PayPal account and it will not let me transfer any money until I "resolve" some issues???!! They want a copy of my drivers license WTF?? I have been selling on Ebay for 8 years so I don't understand what is going on with PayPal.

I just logged in to my PayPal account and it will not let me transfer any money until I "resolve" some issues???!! They want a copy of my drivers license WTF?? I have been selling on Ebay for 8 years so I don't understand what is going on with PayPal.

I had to do that at some point and provide my ss! That made me very nervous. I called they wanted my social sec # I guess I was getting close to the 1099 seller threshold (didn't make it thankfully)! That made me extremely nervous. The Driver's License I can't remember but I think it had to do with increasing the amount I wanted to transfer. If you withdraw or want to, more than 500 per month I needed to provide it so they would lift my limit. Ex. I sold a $750 bag and want to transfer all of the $$ to my bank acct< I couldn't go over the $500 per month, unless I provided my License.
Just make sure it is directly from Paypal, but I would certainly call.

I would never provide my SSN

PayPal would need it for a 1099 where applicable.

But that said, I feel that PayPal has become really invasive in recent years. I sell around 20% as much as I used to because of PayPal and eBay's new policies. I'd rather consign or just keep my items than deal with the multiple headaches that can arise via selling on eBay these days..............

These morons want a copy of my latest tax return providing proof of my SS number, a copy of my driver's license showing proof of who I am, a copy of my utility bill showing my name and address. I took down all of my auctions.