Classic City bag in silver

Hi, I'm completely new to Balenciaga. I'm looking to buy a silver bag and found the classic metallic city bag in silver at the Neimans website. After reading up on these bags I understand certain blues, purples & blacks can fade. Does anyone have any experience with the silver color? Will it fade? Will color transfer be a problem?

Hi, I'm completely new to Balenciaga. I'm looking to buy a silver bag and found the classic metallic city bag in silver at the Neimans website. After reading up on these bags I understand certain blues, purples & blacks can fade. Does anyone have any experience with the silver color? Will it fade? Will color transfer be a problem?

I'd like to know also, as I've been eyeing this color as well. :smile:

I don't think a metallic can fade. I'd be more concerned with it peeling/flaking depending on how it's incorporated into the leather. Also, once it's broken in- I can't picture it looking good.
I could be totally wrong though.

Regarding color transfer- I wouldn't wear any light colors, or metallics against jeans and the like.
Any item of clothing that has the potential for the dye to run (like lots of fading in the wash), I'd keep away from this bag.

Thanks for the response. I'm so OCD about my bags so if it could possibly flake then no way! I really want one so I'll be looking for non metallic colors that catch me eye.

I know how you feel. This is a huge investment so flaking, fading, or color transfer would definitely turn me off on a purchase.
I had a Paddington several years ago (anthracite) and it faded in various areas. Really bummed me out on metallic bags.

All my best regards to you!!!

The 'old' Metallics did have issues, in that the metallic coating was just that .. a coating over Agneau (Lambskin leather).